Alvin Beadles – To Be Read Slowly

IMG_0412This man lays clinging to life. His journey began 36 hours ago with the surgeon’s singular intention of opening his chest and repairing an aneurysm on his ascending aorta. A risky and difficult procedure at best.

Minutes prior to the performance of this intention, the discovery was made that this man needed to have the mitral valve in his heart replaced. Accomplishing this involved stopping his heart, slicing it open and inserting a new valve, donated by a now deceased bovine.

With both procedures complete, this man had his heart restarted and all appeared well. Fifteen minutes later, this man crashed and burned. The surgeon waged war against the ambush of death by performing a double bypass procedure. This man endured three major heart surgeries in one 9.5 hour session.

This man is connected to every machine in the picture. This man loves and serves Jesus. This man could celebrate the 43rd anniversary of marriage to his faithful wife tomorrow. This man…  …is my Dad.

I’m living the picture you’re looking at. I’m feeling the pains, hearing the beeps and seeing the sights that come with watching someone stand at the threshold of death. Feeling, hearing and seeing, not as a pastor, not as a friend, but as a son. A son who benefitted from the nurture, disclipline and example of a now suffering Dad. A son, helpless at the side of his hero.

A son helpless, but not without hope. The Lord is using my living of this picture to impress many things upon my heart. One of which is this: Optimism must have an anchor. It does no good for me to willy nilly ‘hope for’ or envision the best. No help comes from simply ‘having a good feeling’ about things. Both are equally useless. I am optimistic regarding my Dad’s condition because that optimism is anchored/traced back to my relationship with Jesus and his as well.

At the moment the situation is dark. At the same moment I’m genuinely optimistic. At the moment I’m feeling along the links in optimism’s chain – and holding tight to her anchor – Jesus.

31 Responses

  1. Justin, I read the updates from Heather and prayed yesterday. My father had a tripple bypass 2 years ago this week and I know how hard and scary it can be. I will continue praying.

  2. Justin,

    I am very sad to read this story.. It is hard to understand these situations. Especially when it is one of your parents. The whys, what if, does he know? I have been there 3 yrs ago with my dad also. I am praying and will continue to pray for your mother, your family and Grants family. I know I am preaching to the choir.. but just know that God will take care of you..

  3. Praying especially for your mom, your brother, and you today. So thankful for your dad’s influence and example in your life.

  4. Praying for you, bro.

  5. Although I have been through some difficult and close calls with my own dad, nothing in comparison to what Alvin is going through. Your message inspired me. I want to be able to say, when the time comes (as it invariably will), that MY anchor was also chained to the optimism found in faith in Jesus Christ. Thanks for the impromptu and heartfelt “sermon” … it was one I needed to hear :-)

  6. Thanks for sharing JB. I had just checked this site before i went to bed last night to see if you were going to have a posting………and then woke many times during the night w/your family on my mind and heart. We continue to pray for all of you……one day at a time. Thankful for all of you being faithful and trusting in our Lord Jesus Christ…….that is where your strength will come from………Psalm 121

  7. Hey, friend. You are on my heart and in my prayers.

  8. Psalm 121

    1 I lift up my eyes to the hills—
    where does my help come from?

    2 My help comes from the LORD,
    the Maker of heaven and earth.

    3 He will not let your foot slip—
    he who watches over you will not slumber;

    4 indeed, he who watches over Israel
    will neither slumber nor sleep.

    5 The LORD watches over you—
    the LORD is your shade at your right hand;

    6 the sun will not harm you by day,
    nor the moon by night.

    7 The LORD will keep you from all harm—
    he will watch over your life;

    8 the LORD will watch over your coming and going
    both now and forevermore.

  9. Justin (& Heather),
    You are both blessed w/ parents that honored your childhood w/ love & godly principals.

    No doubt these, among other attributes have provided you w/ the confidence to be successful as a son/parent/teacher/councelor/preacher/friend among other endevors that are a part of God’s plan.

    In kind, your parent’s have blessed others who you touch on a daily basis by passing their loving & godly foundation in your life to others.

    Even though I’ve not had the pleasure of getting to know your dad on personal level, I have the next best thing by knowing you. Others may not be as fortunate to have patriarical fathers in our lives, but find inspiration in knowing & witnessing others like yourself that share these traits. Providing us inspiration to break the chain & become patriarchs for our children & others thru God’s message & blessings.

    Our time on this earth is shorter by each passing day.
    No doubt that Alvin mad the most of his time, selfishly praying that God’s plan is to keep his healthy mind/body with us for a few more years. Otherwise, we know Alvin is in a better place that we faithfully hope to join him when our time comes.

    Keep sharing your faith & love!
    Lance

  10. Justin–

    We are praying for your family — thank you for being real and transparent with your church family and allowing us the great privelege of praying for our pastor. We love you and will continue to pray for you all!

    Robert and Christie

  11. Justin Beadles
    How blessed you are to have such a father
    We are praying with you
    We miss you here

  12. Justin,
    My friend, Christy, just forwarded me your blog and I read about your dad. We will be praying for him, your mom, you & Grant and families.
    Regina

  13. Justin,
    Thanks for be so vulnerable and real about how you feel, and Who you are holding on to, in the midst of this unfamilar and scary time in life. It’s a very real reminder to me of my daily need for Jesus. We are praying.

  14. To the family of Alvin Beadles -
    Prayers for Alvin, Phyllis and family are being sent from the family of the Kansas Auctioneers Association.
    Alvin has shown a passion for his profession and may he continue that profession in the future.
    God Bless each of you during this time of uncertain results. God is a loving a caring God and will hold you strong for Alvin.

  15. Your mother shared this web page address and I do appreciate the opportunity to read your reflections.

    I have enjoyed working with your father in the recent years. He is the consumate gentleman, both credible and ethical in all dealings. You honor him with your witness to his role and perhaps that witness is one of the blessings that comes from the challenges your family is facing.
    Our prayers continue for all of you.

  16. Prayers for all. I’m pleased to hear Alvin squeezed Phyllis’ hand today and happy anniversary. I imagine God’s getting tickled at hearing the name Alvin Beadles so often and from so many places…..God, here it comes again.

  17. Phyllis and family-our prayers and thoughts are with you and for Alvin at this time.

  18. Phyllis and family – We love you and this man. You are in our constant prayers. I know that alot of prayers were said for me last week and those same prayers are now coming to comfort and heal you. God is good.
    The Gatlin’s
    Mike, Becky, Larkin, Lance and Tanya

  19. Justin, We are lifting up our prayers for a speedy recovery for your Dad and for the Lord’s comfort and grace toward your whole family. Your Dad is a honorable man whom I know God looks upon with great favor. It has been a pleasure knowing, working with and learning from your father.
    With many prayers,
    Bob and Cathy McBride

    PS: Prayers for your father have been circulated through the online FaceBook community and via the email family of the Fellowship of Christian Auctioneers. Many are with you!

  20. I smile when I hear the name Alvin Beadles. Alvin came and helped me with a Spanish/English auction shortly after taking the Spanish/English course @ World Wide College of Auctioneering. He did an incredible job!!! I pray the Lords favor over Alvin and the entire family at this challenging time.
    Dios Le Bendiga
    God Bless You!!!
    Dan Bailes

  21. Justin:
    I speak for everyone in the Oklahoma State Auctioneers Assoc. when I say that Alvin, Phyllis and the family are in our prayers.
    Larry Frederick

  22. Justin:
    Though you and I have never met, nor have I met your mother, I felt led to share with you the following.
    Your dad visited our auction facility while in the area about 3 weeks ago. I always enjoy your dad so much. We had a great visit about work, war stories, the future of the industry………..and God. Your Dad loves a Lord that has the ability to place his hands on your Dad and have him stand up from that bed and walk out of the hospital, if it is His will.
    He shared stories and updates, with all the happiness a Christian man can muster, how much he loves his family, church, and career. He specifically said “All of those things make my heart feel good.” Just know that there is a lot of “feel good” in a part of his body that physically hurts right now.
    The Lord’s will, will be done. Please know there are many prayers being lifted to our gracious Lord who loves your Dad as much as your Dad loves Him.

  23. Justin,
    We heard about your Dad yesterday. I am praying for him and all of you. Jerry just saw him a few weeks ago at a sale.

    Sherry

  24. Justin,
    I am praying for your family. Your dad always encouraged me. My favorite saying from your dad while serving on a mission trip with him, Making Memories! God bless you and your family Monte Moran

  25. Justin,
    I first met your Dad when he was the Ag Instructor at Thomas Ok. Over the years our friendship has grown and I have a great deal of Christian love and respect for your Dad. Your Dad has had a tremendous and positive influence on many lives and I count it a blessing to call him my friend. My thoughts and prayers are with him and your family

    Roger Entz

  26. I met Alvin at the OSAA convention and must say he was a pleasure. God bless and keep focused on Jesus Christ, our Lord. I am praying for Alvin and his quick recovery! Dewayne Workman Elgin, OK

  27. Alvin, always remember God is in control and whatever his plan is for you is okay. May God bless you and your family. We are praying for you and your family.
    Troy & Angie Lippard

  28. Justin,

    I am praying for your dad and all of your family. I have known him for a few years now and think a lot of him.

  29. Our prayers are with Alvin and family. God will help him. We are thinking of your family. Ron and Doris

  30. Know that you are in our thoughts and prayers!
    Vern & Dorothy

  31. Alvin and Family
    Your Realtor and Auctioneer family are all praying for you. And your GRI friends here in Moore.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

