Misusing My Mouth

Athletes increasingly master their bodies; producing lowered times, longer jumps and higher scores. Fitness regimens are ways of life for some and on the list for more. Persons engaged in such pursuits understand the human body’s power and have specialized criteria for gauging its improvements.
I have lowered the time taken for me to load kids in car seats and have gotten really fast at changing diapers. However, I frequently struggle with misusing my mouth. Fortunately, I am practicing the wisdom found in the following verses and receiving and increased appreciation for the power of my words along with a system for evaluating my conversations.
First, “Pleasant words are a honeycomb, sweet to the soul and healing to the bones (Proverbs 16:24).” The content of my conversations makes a difference. In ancient times finding a honeycomb was an unexpected treasure that brought needed strength. Pleasant words are received as unexpected treasures that bring strength and refreshment into otherwise mundane existences. So should my words be to those I address.
Second, “A word aptly spoken is like apples of gold in settings of silver (Proverbs 25:11).” The timing of my conversations makes a difference. Floral arrangements are comprised of different yet carefully placed flowers. Each flower possesses its own beauty. Yet this beauty is more perfectly revealed when carefully arranged. Conversations are like corsages; you don’t need them everywhere and the best ones are carefully constructed.
Third, “When words are many, sin is not absent, but he who holds his tongue is wise (Proverbs 10:19).” The duration of my conversations makes a difference. Many foreheads bear scars from trying to jump over the coffee table one more time. Athletes suffer the consequences of over training. Conversations start well and end in fights. All three happen because somebody didn’t know when to quit.

Leave a Reply

