Alvin Beadles – Update #5

More than ever, today has been a battle for the mind. In the morning hours Dad was increasingly alert and at one point muttered to my brother; “Do you think it’d be alright if I ate some green beans?” Loopy Dad made us all laugh. However, the effort to crank up the 1943 Model Alvin must have flooded his carburetor. He had to have the ventilator reinserted and was sent back to sleepy land. Our first meaningful setback.

The battle for my mind escalated in intensity. Honestly, I lost this battle for much of the day. Not my sanity. I’ve not begun to imagine myself a dried prune. Rather, I found myself losing the readiness to be guided solely by biblical truth. Letting my mind run away with itself.

A faithful friend, who is also seated in the classroom of pain, helped me. In Bible terms, “He comforted me with the comforted with which he has been comforted.” He listened, listened and listened more. Then he talked. Thank you Blake Holmes.

Psalm 61 was Blake’s foundation for my encouragement. Among other things, the writer asks, “Lord, lift me to the rock that is higher than I.” Meaning – bring my mind to a point where I can see. Give me a higher perspective, a better view.

I’m still sorting it out. I’m learning as I go. However, for this moment, I’m seeing from a different vantage point. What am I seeing? That the star of this movie is not Dad, me or my family. The star is Jesus. In our current pain, he is graciously bringing strength to us and deserved fame to himself.

With continued thankfulness we ask that you pray for Dad’s lungs to be strenghtened, for the pneumonia be eradicated and for our mind’s perspective.

4 Responses

  1. What a rollercoaster….hang in there Alvin…tell him that his cousins are all thinking of him…and anxious to talk with him again!! I’m guessing that Glenda,Gary and Shirley are there too…tell them I’ve been following his condition and give everyone my love! Alisa

  2. “The star is Jesus. In our current pain, he is graciously bringing strength to us and deserved fame to himself.” — amen and amen. Still praying.

  3. Justin you are in school.
    The Lord is teaching you how to minister to others by exercising your faith.
    Apparently you are graduating with honors.

    jh

  4. jb,
    you have been heavy on my heart since church this morning. when we read through Psalm 62 this morning I thought of you and your family, and when I looked over at Psalm 61, that I have highlighted from a dark time in my life , I prayed a special prayer for you. the pain is no different – no matter what your profession is……..never forget that.
    take care of yourself so that you can be strong when you father starts getting stronger………..
    all of our family is still praying for your family…….and as we start our 90 days of Prayer tomorrow, your dad will be at the top of my list……..
    smc
    “trust in him at all times, pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.” Psalm 62:8

    “hear my cry O God; listen to my prayer.” Psalm 61:1

Leave a Reply

