Alvin Beadles – Update #7

There’s not a good kind of staph pneumonia but mercifully Dad doesn’t have the nastiest one. He’s still on the ventilator and mostly sedated but was winched into a chair today. The surgeon thinks this move will be good for his mind. I agree.

Jesus has mercifully allowed him brief moments of quasi-consciousness today. For the first time Mom asked to be alone with Dad. It has been an honor for my brother and me to protect this time for them.

His eyes look tired. He’s so very sick. Yet, his body continues to fight and, according to the Doctors, he’s winning. May the Lord be pleased to preserve his life.

FYI – For those desiring to visit Dad: You are very gracious to share in our current suffering. There are times Dad can be seen and times the staff believe it best that he not be stimulated. A schedule can’t be determined. In other words, you are warmly welcomed but may not be able to see him.

Thanks for walking with us. Now get back to work before Dad wakes and catches us sitting around!

5 Responses

  1. WOW! Good news…I wasn’t aware that you could sit in a chair while on a vent…the progress medicine has made! Sounds like he may be “out of the woods”…but still needing to heal and recover. 🙂 We’ll continue to check on his condition! Alisa

  2. Thanks be to God! I’m so sorry that you all are having to walk through this difficult time, but you are doing so admirably. I pray that Christ will continue to strengthen your dad and all of you by His Grace!

  3. Justin:
    I’m sure you don’t remember me. I am friends with your aunt Shirley and my son calls your Granny, Granny B. I have been keeping up-to-date on your dad through your blog. Know that your family are in my prayers. I pray that God will continue to give Alvin renewed health and strength and that you, Grant, and your mom as well as all of your family will continue to be strengthed by God and his mercy and grace. Rest in his peace today. Be blessed.
    Sally (Kealy) Madden

  4. Justin,
    It’s as if only yesterday that I met you on my parents’ back porch and you gave me an encouraging hug and spoke the words “it’s not suppose to be this way-Dad’s are suppose to be the strong ones”. I could never imagine that you and I would be feeling such similar emotions within two months of one another.

    You have said that it has been an honor to serve both your mom and dad. I can say, without a doubt, that sharing my Daddy’s last moments on this earth, as well as releasing him to Jesus, was the highest honor I have experienced to date.

    I pray that God continues to supply you with the energy needed to face each day and what it brings. The Holy Spirit will provide abundant peace and strength-He continues to for me everyday!!

    Praying with you and for you,
    Sheri Mullican

  5. Thinking of and praying for you guys often. Get well Dr. Beadles, I have many more questions.

Leave a Reply

